Counseling K-12

The American School Counselor Association honored 
Piscataway’s K-12 Developmental Counseling Program as a 
National Exemplary Program

On the K-12 School Counseling web site you will find names and contact information for our District team of developmental school counselors, a listing of parent evening workshops, and updates on elementary counseling, middle school counseling, high school counseling, and our high school Career Center. Included in the high school section is important information on financial aid. We maintain our list of scholarship opportunities regularly. Also included are SAT information and a hyperlink to the College Board web site. Please visit our web site. We think you will discover useful resources and information about our programs.



Counseling Staff for 2016-2017

Ms. Deidre Ortiz, Director of Pupil Services (732-572-2289 x2554)
Mrs. Theresa Edmondson, Department Chair of College, Career & Personal Guidance (732-981-0700 x2232)
Dr. Deborah Dawson, Supervisor of K-8 Counseling and Behaviorists, and K-12 Health Services
Linda Pols, District Counseling Secretary (732-981-0700 x2024) 

Piscataway High School (732-981-0700)

West Wing

East Wing

Rosie Nemes – Secretary (x2222)

Betty Snyder –Secretary (x2231)

Patricia Nazaire (x2237)

Shirley Aviles (x2027)

Benita Ogburn-Mclean (x2226)

Jennifer Mandell-McHenry (x2450)

Kelly Chilakos (x2228)

Shar – Mekka Pernell (x2238)

Mark Kiang (x2234)

Pam Travis (x2227)

Brian Wischusen (x2224)

Daniel Zarchin (x2236)

Dr. Shannon Gutches (x2003)

Conackamack (732-699-1577)

Deborah Previte, Secretary (x5115)

Susan Manley (x5117)

Dr. Kelvin Rogers (x5116)

Quibbletown (732-752-0444)

Nancy Rutowski, Secretary (x5314)

Dr. Beth Barbarasch (x5359)

Mawiyah Husbands (x5316)

Jason Richardson (x5315)

Schor (732-752-4457)

Jean Gransky, Secretary (x5214)

Kathryn Garcia (x5217)

Wendy Johanssen (x5215)

Uma Patel (x5216)

Intermediate Schools

Arbor (732-752-8652)

King (732-699-1563)

Robyn Rosenthal (x5556)

Dr. Olga Diamantis (x5461)

Maria Balint (x5508)

Elementary Schools









Sara Shapiro (x5648)

Dr. Heather Blumert (x5757)

Maria Pinnata (x5757)

Sarah Rutstein (x5822)

Caitlyn Mehok (x5904)

The Haven


Evelina Goitia (x2250)

Dr. Pat Connelly, Director